Cheap Eats: Broccoli Cornbread

If I told you I’d just made broccoli cornbread, you’d probably be mildly repulsed, right?  Broccoli and cornbread?

Oh yes.

Broccoli cornbread is actually super easy, super tasty and super cheap. It’s perfect to eat for dinner, have for a snack or pack for lunch.My mom would make it for me and my little brother all the time when we were kids, and we all but inhaled it. Before that, My Great-Aunt Musette would cook if for my mom during summers spent along the North Carolina coast. So, you might say that broccoli cornbread and I have a little history together. (I am actually quite sure, however, that Great-Aunt Musette’s recipe was passed down to her from the Jiffy box, since I recently found a very similar recipe on the brand’s website. But shhh).

(looks appetizing right?)

BROCCOLI CORNBREAD 3

This recipe essentially requires five things: Jiffy Cornbread mix, frozen broccoli, cottage cheese, eggs, and butter. The cottage cheese makes this bread moist and delicious (also, protein!) while the broccoli and cornbread add texture and flavor. Delicious, I tell you.

You’re probably very enticed now, so behold the recipe below:

 

GREAT-AUNT MUSETTE’S BROCCOLI CORNBREAD

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 box Jiffy Corn Muffin mix
  • 1 package chopped broccoli, thawed (I use about 2 cups)
  • 6 oz. cottage cheese
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 stick of butter

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat over to 400 degrees.
  2. Mix your ingredients in a bowl (adding corn muffin mix last).
  3. Spread out mixture in an 11″ x 9″ pan.
  4. Bake for 30 minutes at 400 degrees.

BOOM. THAT’S IT. It’s not much to look at, but it’s super tasty, cheap, and full of veggies (but probably not all that healthy).

Leave a Reply

