BB Off Duty: The Body Issue

We could spend hours talking about who to blame: the nature of society, technology, the media, but the truth is pointing fingers about where bad body image originates doesn’t fix the fact that all the self-doubt is getting out of hand.

At BB we believe in a practical approach to tackle the negativity—whether that be going au naturale or just loving what makes you different—by focusing on the good. So we gathered some advice as well as a few tidbits on what we love when we face the mirror, and it could be that we’re bragging just a little, but who could blame us? We’re just trying to see the positive, which as far as we are concerned, is much better than trying to pick ourselves apart.

Who’s with us?

Elizabeth’s Take

Elizabeth

Her adviceWork with what you’ve got. Know your body and know what works. Simple.

We are the way we are for a reason.

Her personal fav:  I’m a big believer in keeping things natural. I don’t do makeup and I let my hair do it’s own thing. We are the way we are for a reason, and I’ve never really felt a need to alter myself. Just let it be, man.

Anna B.’s Take

AnnaB

Her advice: My best piece of advice is that everyone is their own worst critic, be nicer to yourself. A little over a year ago I was asked by a man what my favorite physical attribute in myself was…and I had no answer to give him. Not a single thing. It was something of a jarring wake up call that inspired me to be kinder to myself. Since then I have come to feel a little more positive about the image I present to the world.Weirdly, I like my back muscles (i’ve been practicing my pull-ups, and taking on a new hobby of rock climbing). I’ve also just dyed my hair red, which has given me a more refreshed feeling in my appearance. Loving my body is a slow process, but a worthwhile one.

I have come to feel a little more positive about the image I present to the world.

Her personal fav: I feel most attractive and confident when I am working out (despite the uncomfortable fact that I am always the sweatiest person in the gym), so here is a photo following a day at the climbing gym, in which I feel confident and beautiful.

Cassie’s Take

Cassie

Her advice:  If you’re struggling with positive body image, surround yourself with positive people. Being around people who criticize their own appearance or that of others is only going to draw you into the same circle of negativity. If the people around you say things like, “my thighs are huge” or “I can’t possibly eat that cupcake, I’m so fat today” on a regular basis, find better friends with more interesting things to talk about. 

Being around people who criticize their own appearance or that of others is only going to draw you into the same circle of negativity.

Her personal fav: I have-very fortunately-reached a point in my life where I feel confident just being me. Sure, there are things about my appearance I’m not crazy about (hello adult acne), but this is how I look and that’s just how it is.

Sarra’s Take

Sarra

Her advice: When I don’t feel so great about a particular body part, I remind myself about what it can do and why it’s important.

Why should I feel negatively about my hands when they’re so essential to my passions?

Her personal fav: Growing up with depression and anxiety, I’ve had many bouts of low body confidence about the smallest details. For example, I used to hate my hands because my palms are really big. Most of this is probably because I’ve recovered a lot since then, but I’m much better about my self-image now. If my feet were sevens instead of tens, I’d probably topple over. And why should I feel negatively about my hands when they’re so essential to my passions?

Anna M.’s Take

AnnaM

Her advice: I like to try to see the good in everyone. Negative talk toward yourself is horrible, but negative talk toward others is just as bad. Avoid being *that* person who sees someone and immediately identifies their flaws. Instead, find at least one thing you like about them, be it the outfit they’re wearing, their hair, their infectious laugh. You’d be surprised how seeing others differently will start to help you see yourself differently.

I’m a fun person to be around, and I try to remember that that’s so much more important than physical assets.

Her personal fav: Something I love about myself (besides my killer hair) is my personality. I’m a fun person to be around, and I try to remember that that’s so much more important than physical assets.

Garth’s Take

Garth

His advice: I think for me, you just have to not fall into a rut. I’ve struggled with eating disorders, and most guys won’t talk about them. But, when you realize that you’re hurting yourself for something you consider the perfect look, don’t be afraid to ask for help. The disorder hurts more than knowing your friends are there to support you, even if they don’t understand.

Even if you don’t like the way you look, there are so many awesome features you have that you don’t know.

His personal fav: My eye color. Everyone that’s seen them has always complimented them, and that’s just proof that even if you don’t like the way you look, there are so many awesome features you have that you don’t know.

Maggie’s Take

mirror copy

Her advice: Don’t wait to look “perfect” to live your life. I have always been on the plump side—to quote Bridget Jones: “Yes, I will always be just a little bit fat”—and it used to stop me from doing what I wanted because I had it in my head that I couldn’t enjoy whatever it was until I was thinner. But the problem was that I never was “thin enough” so I missed out on all these great adventures. Once I admitted to myself I was actively sabotaging my own life, I realized how stupid I was and how important it is to remind myself that being a smaller size won’t make me a better person, it won’t make me smarter, and it won’t make me love myself more. People are going to judge you regardless (especially if you’re a woman) so you can crawl in a hole or you can have fun in spite of them, it’s up to you.

Being a smaller size won’t make me a better person, it won’t make me smarter, and it won’t make me love myself more.

Her personal fav: I love my contrasts: my blonde hair, my pale skin and my dark eyes. Natural blondes with dark brown eyes are really rare, much more so than blue or green eyes and blonde hair, and it makes me feel good because it’s a little different.

Leave a Reply

